A few of my favourite things

While traveling: one has been visiting chateaus. They are so diverse and huge, with such varying histories. The word ‘chateau’ roughly translates to ‘castle’, and I am using the word here to include the castles we saw in England, but in Franc they are more like large estates. Except the one we saw today! It took the cake as the most unusual chateau I have ever seen. It was made entirely by hand by a postman wishing to fulfill a dream he had had. He started it in 1879 and finished it 33 years later at the age of 76. It is incredible! The corridors are tiny and the pictures that are the walls are so intricate. Unlike most chateaus, it is open for anyone to run around and explore.

In life: 1. swimming! I’m not sure why I find such joy in swimming. It might be from dates down the river. Whatever the reason, much to my older sister’s bewilderment, I have been getting overexcited about swimming for the last three quarters of a year. Today we went to a salt water outdoor pool (no where near the sea). It was a jolly time. The most unusual part for me was discovering that no one is allowed to wear board shorts, and probably swim shirts, in the pools! And interestingly, almost all the women and girls had their hair tied up.

2. Family. Last in this list, but most important. I am greatly enjoying being one of a very close family. Unlike Australia, the children feel no need to leave the town and they are all living within a short drive from the parents. So every lunch and dinner is a big family meal, and, in accordance with French culture, they drink alcohol at every meal except breakfast. But, unlike Australia, I’ve never seen them affected by the alcohol. They even went to the trouble of getting me an (almost) alcohol-free beer! The family here go out of their way to help me and to treat me like family and an honoured guest. The kids are adorable and have accepted me. I’m beginning to understand phrases like “Play with me!” and “Would you like an icecream?”.

So, as you can guess, I’m having a wonderful time and I’m exhausted now at the end of such a day!

Leave a comment